Australian PM, ministers sworn-in following election victory

Spread the love



29 may, canberra – Re-elected Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison and his new-look ministry have officially been sworn-in to office.

Morrison and his cabinet team, which includes a record seven women, visited the Government House on Wednesday morning where the Governor General Peter Cosgrove swore them into office.

Ken Wyatt, an Aboriginal Member of Parliament (MP) from Western Australia (WA), received a standing ovation as he became the country’s first Aboriginal cabinet minister.

Morrison’s Liberal-National Party Coalition (LNP) defied polls to win a third term in government in the general election on May 18, defeating the opposition Australian Labor Party (ALP).

He elevated Sussan Ley, Linda Reynolds and Anne Ruston to his cabinet, the government’s council of senior ministers, as the ministers for the environment, defense and families and social services respectively.

They joined Foreign Affairs Minister Marise Payne, Agriculture Minister Bridget McKenzie, Employment Minister Michaelia Cash and Industry Minister Karen Andrews as women in Cabinet.

Australia’s 46th parliament is expected to convene for the first time in the first week of July, with the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) still counting votes. Enditem (RSS)

प्रतिक्रिया दिनुहोस्